C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Hesitation during acceleration

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2011, 04:16 PM
67Olds442x2
Instructor

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Default Hesitation during acceleration

I have a 94 coupe with the LT1 that I just got a week ago. I'm new to this type of motor, I'm used to big block Olds motors where I can actually see and change parts.
The car hesitates and/or bogs down when I try to accelerate from a stop went the engine is cold. Seems to work fine after it's warmed up but will bog if I jump on it too much. The car has 100k miles on it and I don't think it was well taken care off. I assume it has to do with the fuel system or throttle plate maybe. The engine may need a complete tune up? I pulled the easiest spark plug I could get to and it looked fine. I have new ones to install but looks like a day job. I know nothing about fuel injection. Thanks.
Old 07-01-2011, 07:55 PM
TWISTERUP
Burning Brakes

Assuming you're not seeing any warning lights and the ASR (traction control) isn't active at times. Some folks say the ASR feels like a "bog" and I agree. I'd start by checking fuel pressure first. These aren't exact specs for yours but they'll get you there.

42-47 psi ign on -engine off
38-42 eng. running

Spark plugs,wires air and fuel filters are all maint. items which should be replaced along with all the fluids being changed assuming you don't have service history on the car. Another possibility could be dirty injectors--but I'd check pressure first.
Old 07-01-2011, 08:00 PM
383vett
Race Director

Received 1,541 Likes on 1,042 Posts

The first thing I would do after buying a used car is do a tuneup; wires, plugs, cap, rotor, fuel filter, 02 sensors, check timing, oil, filters, etc. That usually will resolve any issues. If after all that, there are still issues, check fuel pressure and injectors.
Old 07-01-2011, 10:03 PM
67Olds442x2
Instructor