C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

porting heads and intakes.

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2014, 07:57 AM
cappy781
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default porting heads and intakes.

High guys i am new here i have two cars. One is a 1983 trans am 383 stroker tko500 and dana 44 f.body rear end. Back on black i built this myself. The second car is under construction its a 1978 vette 350 stock and 4speed. I have been building hot rods my whole life i am a autobody man/painter by trade. I have 20 years in the business. I am 37 years old. I also port old iron and love the old intakes. I have a low hood on booth cars so i just finished porting my old edelbrock torker1 intake. The old x plane style. I have a torker two i can port up as well for the vette when i start the topend build. How do i add pics on here so i can show you my work?
Old 06-25-2014, 08:43 AM
qwank
Le Mans Master

Received 57 Likes on 44 Posts

http://forums.corvetteforum.com/c3-g...irections.html
Old 06-25-2014, 09:43 AM
cv67
Team Owner

Received 3,043 Likes on 2,602 Posts
St. Jude Donor '05

In your reply box (which is what were typing in now) look at the icons
Youll see a smiley face then a paperclip. click on that and it will pull up pics from your harddrive.Click browse, it will pull your pics up. Click on the desired ones then hit upload. Go below the reply box and hit submit

Also a compulsive porter. TPI, LSx BBC you name it. Crazy obsession
Old 06-25-2014, 11:14 AM
gkull
Team Owner

Received 1,331 Likes on 1,059 Posts

Old intakes are not functional performance items. They were only larger runners without any thought about being a tuned length decreasing diameter port. The short plenums cause fuel separation. They were garbage.

People port matching small runners to larger heads have actually ruined the intake manifold.