C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

bad spindle or bad rear bearing?

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2006, 02:18 PM
mikewho
Navigator

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default bad spindle or bad rear bearing?

I have been working on my brakes off and on for a few months. Replaced m/c, calipers,pads. Bled brakes with speed bleeders (these are great). Still have almost no pressure on brake pedal with engine running. Right rear rotor had been removed earlier, so I tapped holes with 3/8-24 tap and bolted rotor on as gtr1999 suggested. Problem is my runout is .010 (if I'm doing it right). Corvette Enthusiast Magazine suggested replacing spindle instead of shimming if there was a large runout. Any suggestions? How do you know if bearings and or spindle are bad? Is replacing spindle diffficlut? I am not a wrench but willing learn. Mike
Old 04-23-2006, 02:56 PM
GTR1999
Tech Contributor

Received 2,675 Likes on 1,352 Posts

Mike, glad you bolted them. .010 is not uncommon, I've had that much with new USA rotors! Can you check the runout in the spindle flange? If you can check it. Replacing a spindle is not a common backyard vette job. You have to set up the bearings to .001-.002 endplay and that usually required machining to get them that close. Check my post on rebuilding rear bearings and it will have a lot of pictures to help you decide what to do. If the endplay is good and there is no problem with the "feel" of the bearings I'd leave it until you're ready to rebuild them. New spindles have runout in them too. I've used both USA and imported ones and some were out .002-.005" and I had to face them in a lathe.
I've shimmed rotors without any problem, as long as you bolt them on and you're using the correct thread- not the 3/8-16 as that mag listed a few issues ago.

Here is the bearing post.
http://forums.corvetteforum.com/show....php?t=1229686