Audio - C3 Front kick panel speakers

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2023, 01:40 PM
LTC_Ret
Navigator

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Audio - C3 Front kick panel speakers

Hello,

First, I want to thank everyone for their kind and patient input on my previous posts. I'm new to C3 Corvettes and this forum has been very helpful.

I'm restoring a 1972 Corvette (that currently has no front speakers) and I understand if I had them, they would be installed behind the LH, RH front kick panels. My question is, what size are they supposed to be? Can someone please include a pic with their response?

Thanks in advance.
Old 09-12-2023, 03:41 PM
wadenelson
Burning Brakes

Received 332 Likes on 199 Posts

ASSUMING they're the same size as the '68's... Pioneer 4x6's were what was in mine, obviously NOT the oem speakers.

I found a same-size pair at Advance Auto parts. $40.

picture to follow

Old 09-12-2023, 03:45 PM
pmr2000
Pro

Received 44 Likes on 42 Posts

I have a 75 coupe so not sure if same - I just installed 4" Rockford Fosgates R14X2's. That's all that would fit. Connected to a cheap Customautosound USA 230 radio. Sounds o.k. but not much volume at speed.

I have factory speakers up in dash that I disconnected sounded worse!
Old 09-12-2023, 04:03 PM
Mark G
Melting Slicks

Received 457 Likes on 339 Posts

IDK if you can fit some 4" or 5" round speakers in there that would be a bonus. Pretty much every guy who knows their car stereo 'stuff', like experienced installers, seem to say 4 or 5" round 2-way speakers beats out a 4x6 any day. I was just reading the Car Stereo Cookbook the other day and funny that author said the same thing. But I haven't personally done listening tests myself. I'm going to experiment with some I think though. But I've been reading some car stereo forums and the OBS forums have some knowledgeable car stereo guys on there who say the same ...based on their yrs of experience. Something to look into perhaps.

Old 09-12-2023, 04:23 PM
LTC_Ret