C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

HELP!! Cleared codes in DIC now car wont start?

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2008, 09:43 PM
Radioactivette
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default HELP!! Cleared codes in DIC now car wont start?

Hello I have a 98 automatic coupe and had a "service engin soon" and a "check engin light" on, car was runnig ok. So I cleared the codes through the DIC now the car wont start codes were PCM P1416 H-C, TCS C1286 H-C and BCM B2723 H-C Also reprogramed my new #1 key fob that day lost original set. had new key made it was working fine HELP!!!!
Old 04-09-2008, 10:23 PM
MagRedConv
Team Owner
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 61 Likes on 32 Posts

I'm not an expert on codes nor do I play one on TV however, this may be of some assistance -

http://forums.corvetteforum.com/show...ight=code+list Hope this helps
Old 04-09-2008, 11:18 PM
Bill Dearborn
Tech Contributor

Received 8,997 Likes on 5,365 Posts

It looks like you have an issue with your key. The other codes will not keep the car from starting. Are you sure you have a key with the correct resistor pellet? If you don't have a correct resistor on the key the car will not start. It is part of an excellent anti-theft system.

Here is the diagnostic info for the Key Problem:
DTC B2723 PASS-Key Detection Circuit

Circuit Description
Inserting the PASS-Key® (with resistor pellet) in the ignition lock cylinder completes the PASS-Key® circuit. Contacts in the ignition lock cylinder mate with the pellet contacts. The BCM compares the resistance value of the key pellet to the valid resistance programmed into the BCM. If the proper resistance value is read, the BCM allows the following functions to occur:

The theft deterrent relay to energize.
The steering column to unlock.