C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Zinc In Oil for ZZ3

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2009, 01:42 PM
trsulliv
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Zinc In Oil for ZZ3

I have a 73 with a 93 ZZ3 crate engine. I am sure there are other threads about zinc in the oil, but was not sure how to find them. So, do I need to start looking for oil with zinc for the ZZ3? If yes, can somebody recommend an oil? I have been running Mobil 1 in it for many years now, and Valvoline 20W-50 Racing oil for an occasional track day.
Old 07-29-2009, 02:05 PM
GeorgeS
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Zinc is needed for solid lifters. If you have roller lifters in your new engine this will not be an issue at all. You should get plenty of opinions on which oil is best soon... my experience has been to use inexpensive oil and change it regularly. For me this means once per year when I put my 68 away for the winter. I run about 1,200 miles per summer and never had a problem. I didn't name the brand because it will start an oil fight but I truely wouldn't be afraid to use any brand out there. I do not race! Almost never over 5,500 RPM. If you run your engine hard you may need to be thoughtful of the brand you use.
Old 07-29-2009, 04:59 PM
Jims66
Drifting

Received 51 Likes on 43 Posts

Do a search on "ZDDP" in this Forum and I think you'll get answers to your question.
Old 07-29-2009, 05:10 PM
Paul L
Team Owner

Received 93 Likes on 91 Posts

Originally Posted by Jims66
Do a search on "ZDDP" in this Forum and I think you'll get answers to your question.
Yes, I use it. Castrol GTX 10W-40 with this added. Works fine.

Last edited by Paul L; 07-29-2009 at 06:48 PM.
Old 07-29-2009, 05:35 PM
FKING1
Safety Car

Received 105 Likes on 78 Posts

If you check, diesel oils have zinc in them. Some solid lifter folkd use it.
Old 07-29-2009, 06:23 PM
timgman
Burning Brakes