C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Something odd about the Z51 rotors

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2005, 03:49 PM
WX3TKO
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

New to this Forum, first post. I'm really keen on brakes, and even though this thread has gotten a little stale, I wanted to bring some information forward and seek an answer to let everyone know what the straight skinny is. Sorry in advance for the length of this post.

My background is not Corvettes except as an enthusiast--maybe some day I'll own one. A couple of things to pass along, however.

The information divulged in this thread so far seems to be accurate. The J55 HD brakes (part of C6 Z51 option) list only one rotor for front and one for rear. Front is PN 89060328 and rear is 89060329, rather than 4 separate part numbers like the C5.

Even the standard JL9 brake package for the C6 lists only single PN's front and rear, PN 89060212 and 88955498.

Some in this thread have commented about "just installing regular (or C5) rotors" on your C6 Z51, but that won't work without also changing caliper brackets, at the least. The Z51 rotors are larger in diameter, increased from 12.8" to 13.4" in front, and from 12.0" to 13.0" in the rear compared to standard C6 and C5 rotors. The C6 (and XLR) rotors are improved parts, weighting about 2 pounds more each compared to the equivalent C5 parts, to provide greater mass, thus better thermal characteristics, and incorporate a unique (for the C6) "gooseneck" in the transition from the hub to the rotor surfaces to serve as a heat dam to aid in reducing heat transfer into the hub and warpage problems.