C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Oil change = 6.0+ quarts?

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2004, 05:53 PM
mikeyc6
Melting Slicks

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Default Oil change = 6.0+ quarts?

I decided to change my oil today at about 800 miles just to get some fresh oil in there after the breakin. I put 6 quarts in and the oil level on the dipstick is still only halfway into the hatched area. Normal? Could the dipstick be inaccurate?

I warmed it up afterward, let it run for a while, turned it off and let the oil settle for about 10 minutes, and checked the dipstick several times on level ground so I don't think it's me. I've been changing oil for over 20 years, so I doubt it's pilot error.

I tried a search, but the search tool here can't even find a common term like "VIN" most of the time, so that's useless. Looking for input from people who have changed their own oil in their C6 already.

Thanks,
Mike
Old 10-10-2004, 06:06 PM
curvesman
Safety Car

Received 126 Likes on 88 Posts
C2 of the Year Finalist - Unmodified 2020

Very strange? I thought the c6 took five and a half quarts!
Old 10-10-2004, 06:10 PM
mikeyc6
Melting Slicks

Originally Posted by curvesman
Very strange? I thought the c6 took five and a half quarts!
That's what the manual says, but when I added 5.5 quarts, the level was only at the bottom (start) of the hatched pattern on the dipstick.

I read on another forum that the 5.5 quarts is the oil pan capacity so it doesn't include the volume of the filter, which might be a half quart.

I'm not too worried about it as I don't think an extra half quart will hurt especially when it brings it to halfway into the hatch on the dipstick, but I'd just like to know what others have found.

Mike
Old 10-10-2004, 07:11 PM
Buster1
Burning Brakes

Received 1 Like on 1 Post