C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

carburator and exhaust question.

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2004, 07:13 PM
done4fun
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default carburator and exhaust question.

i have a 81 and was wondering if i could change my carb and intake to a eldebrock setup and how to tell which carb and intake i need. also i took the car to a custom muffler shop and he said i cant make it dual exhaust. any input on these items? and what else do i need to change if i do change carb. someone said something about the ignition.....im not a great mechanic so dont understand everything but i do love my vette! thanks in advance to all who help. :flag
Old 07-12-2004, 07:28 PM
John 65
Le Mans Master

Received 403 Likes on 326 Posts

On my 80 I put the edelbrock performer intake and a new Holley 600 cfm carb. Runs real nice with them. No mechanic here but it was fairly simple. Good luck
Old 07-12-2004, 07:37 PM
comp
Team Owner

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

don't know NY laws... someone will post up to help you
Old 07-13-2004, 06:29 AM
UKPaul
Safety Car

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Did the muffler shop guy say that you can't change to dual exhaust due to your local laws, or due to it being physically difficult??? Mid America sell a dual system that'll bolt straight onto an '81 (fit mine well after a slight modification with a hacksaw!), but you'll lose the Cat. Maybe that's why he said you couldn't do it - do you need the Cat?