C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Crooked steering column

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2004, 11:01 PM
WarBound
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Crooked steering column

I guess I just noticed absolutely after looking closer, always felt like it though when sitting in car. If my left hand is at 9:00 and my right hand is 3:00 o-clock, my right hand is way closer to the dash. If you were on top of my t-tops looking down at my steering column, the steering wheel is tilted or crooked.

Is this normal for a C3? I am new at ownership and haven't met anyone that owns one near my house that I can compare with. If it's not normal is it a simple adjustment of the column to the dash or rag joint?

Thanks in advance friends!
Old 04-27-2004, 11:06 PM
78 Vette
Drifting

Default Re: Crooked steering column (WarBound)

ttt
mine is the same way.
I Wonder if this normal also. :confused:
Old 04-28-2004, 08:57 AM
Crash80
Drifting

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I think it must be normal, though to what degree I am not sure. My '80 has a slight tilt to it. Holding my hands in the same position, my left hand would be slightly closer to my chest than my right but not a huge amount.

[Modified by CVT4ME, 10:22 AM 4/28/2004]
Old 04-28-2004, 09:10 AM
Older Than Dirt
Burning Brakes

Received 10 Likes on 5 Posts

Default Re: Crooked steering column (CVT4ME)

Yep, it's normal. :yesnod:
Old 04-28-2004, 11:38 AM
Jim Shea
Le Mans Master
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 98 Likes on 81 Posts

Default Re: Crooked steering column (Older Than Dirt)