C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

tri-power performance

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2004, 02:35 AM
TLChydraulics
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default tri-power performance

I just purchased my 76 vette.... it has a quadra-jet that is not in too good of shape. Idles poorly... Lots of bogging, hesitating etc. I have an Edelbrock C362S triple duece intake and 3 rochester 2's I bought from a friend of a friend converting to Dual quads on his dragger. It has the progressive linkage and air filters etc... Now I have never used tri-power before but have heard they can be a nightmare to set up, and keep them adjusted. My vette is more or less my saturday night special, and don't plan on driving it ALOT, but I love the look of the three dueces on an engine. My big question is... Is the performance from 3 dueces worth the setup and adjusting? Are they as good or better than a good after market intake and holley? A big "saying" I've been hearing from some some-what knowledgable friends is..."all show, no go". Any tri-power users out there? :confused:

Thanks for any suggestions or advice.
Loren
Old 04-07-2004, 05:34 AM
RHD '68 L89
Drifting

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Default Re: tri-power performance (TLChydraulics)

Loren, Before you go changing manifolds and carbs Pull the Q jet off and send it to Lars in Colorado. He will rebuild it BETTER than new and he can also tell you what to do with the distributor. As Lars says, most carbie problems are acutally distributor problems.
I believe the search function is still off line but if you page Lars with another post he will chime in.
Lars is THE Carb and Distributor guru.
His work will amaze you. There are many testaments to the Lars-brettor here on the forum.
:cheers:
Old 04-07-2004, 07:24 AM
gerry72
Safety Car

Received 41 Likes on 39 Posts

Default Re: tri-power performance (RHD '68 L89)