C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

EFI Setup

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2004, 11:10 PM
69driver
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default EFI Setup

I am new to the motor building game so I am looking for some opinions. I have '69 that has a ZZ4 crate motor. I am looking to install an EFI system and a supercharger. I have heard the ACCEL Gen VII EFI system is a good one. Has anyone installed this one, or have opinions on a better setup? Also, looking to put in an ATI procharger. I am trying to get about 550 HP out of my 350 on pump gas. I, of course, will beef up the pistons and will probably look to lower my compression from 10.5:1 to 9.0:1. I don't think Procharger sells an engine bracket to fit the 1968-1972 Corvette. Has anyone put the Procharger in?
Old 04-06-2004, 12:44 AM
SuprJames
Melting Slicks

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

Default Re: EFI Setup (69driver)

I'm using Accel Gen VII. I have a 383 stroker motor topped with a TPI style injection system (Accel's SuperRam). The system works great for me. Pretty simple to install. My first trip to the strip brought a 13.07 and 1.74 sec. 60' time on a set of $50 street tires. Also get over 20 mpg on the highway.

My only suggestion to you is that if you aren't an expert at tuning a system like this, take it to a dyno shop that has a technician that is familiar with Gen VII. I spent about 3 months on the road trying to tune it myself. I had it idling great and actually ran that 1/4 before I took it to the dyno shop. I finally decided to check my work and the guy picked up 20 HP and 90 ft. lb. of torque without turning a wrench in less then 2 hours! I wrecked my car the next day and actually just cranked the car again for the first time in 9 months on Sunday. Cranked on the second try and ran beautifully.
Old 04-06-2004, 02:27 AM
Z-man
Race Director

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts