C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rear Suspension/Exhaust

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2004, 03:41 PM
WrenchThrower
Navigator

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rear Suspension/Exhaust

Hi, I'm relatively new to this message board. Just about ready to tackle a total rear suspension rebuild and new exhaust on my 80. Any tips or things I should look out for???

Also, are any of you guys from the Ottawa, Ontario (Canada) area? Would also be interested in posting some pics of my motor/engine bay rebuild and front suspension rebuild.

Also wondering if there are any good places to buy parts in Ontario?

Thanks and Cheers :beatdeadhorse:
Old 04-01-2004, 04:35 PM
stingraymaniac
Le Mans Master

Received 68 Likes on 49 Posts

Default Re: Rear Suspension/Exhaust (WrenchThrower)

hi and welcome here!!!
check if the wheel bearings are ok,check all the u joints,as for the exhaust you should go for the true duals,its just gonna make a biiig difference if you have the original on now! :yesnod:
Old 04-01-2004, 05:13 PM
brooksman9
Burning Brakes

St. Jude Contributor

Default Re: Rear Suspension/Exhaust (stingraymaniac)

Welcome. Seems like half the people on this forum are from Canada. Great looking bunch of cars too! Did most of my rear end this last winter. Watch out for the "While I'm at it syndrome". As for the exhaust, definetly true duals and maybe a set of headers. That is what I did. Used a set of Hooker prebent 2 1/4" prebent pipes and dynomax ceramic coated headers. They did not match up as well as I would have liked but worked out ok. Still had to have everything welded and tweaked a little. I think I would just have it all done at an exhaust shop next time :cheers:
Old 04-02-2004, 09:09 AM
WrenchThrower
Navigator

Default Re: Rear Suspension/Exhaust (brooksman9)