C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How to determine redline.

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2004, 12:06 PM
Jim Stewart
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to determine redline.

First off I just want to say I am no expert on engines, so please forgive me if I sound like I don't know what I am talking about.

Let me describe my setup before I get into my question. I have a midyear that has what I call a mystery engine in it. The guy I bought it from told me that it is a 69 350 L-46. He said the cam was replaced with a "duntov" cam, but that it is not a solid lifter cam but hydraulic. The car has an MSD 6AL with a MSD billet distributor and an Edelbrock performer manifold with a Q-jet. To the best of my knowledge everything else is stock. There are no numbers visible on the block under the head to identify this engine.

My question is how do you determine what the redline on an engine is, my tach is a 6500 rpm redline tach (I know this has nothing to do with the engines capabilities)? When I get it up to about 5500 rpm it is still pulling hard like it wants to rev further. I never go beyond that because I am afraid I will damage the engine. Is there anyway to figure out what the redline would be?

Thanks.
Old 03-16-2004, 12:29 PM
Nowhere Man
Team Owner

Received 6,940 Likes on 4,780 Posts
2015 C2 of Year Finalist

Default Re: How to determine redline. (Jim Stewart)

http://forums.corvetteforum.com/zerothread?id=760293

i asked trhat question in the general corvette topics under engine mods :chevy :thumbs:
Old 03-16-2004, 01:33 PM
Jim Stewart
Advanced

Default Re: How to determine redline. (Nowhere Man)

Thanks a lot for that is helpful.
Old 03-16-2004, 01:49 PM
Doug70vert
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post