C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Remove Bushings from Upper & Lower Arm Assembly (1980)

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2003, 04:17 PM
MRKearney
Intermediate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Remove Bushings from Upper & Lower Arm Assembly (1980)

I'm a new member to this great site. Additionally I'm a novice at Corvette restoration. Does anyone have a simple method to remove the bushings from the upper & lower assemblies of the front suspension without buying expensive tools? My restoration will be a one time project... I think so I don't won't to invest in tools I may use only once.
Old 08-31-2003, 05:18 PM
72ls5fla
Drifting

Received 11 Likes on 8 Posts

Default Re: Remove Bushings from Upper & Lower Arm Assembly (MRKearney)

Do yourself a very large avor and take the arms to a machine shop and have them preseed out.

You can use an air-chisel to force them out of teh arm tabs, but you may bend/distort the arm in the process.

Pressing them is the best and safest way to do this. I had mine done and it cost me 50.00 to do all 4 arms.

Hope this helps.

Bill

Old 08-31-2003, 08:02 PM
wartosh
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Pressing them out is the way to go. You should try one of the local Technical Colleges with an Automotive Program. Most will press them out and install the new during the suspension class.

Good Luck. :iagree:
Old 08-31-2003, 08:19 PM
PROSOUTH
Drifting

Location: Manchester, Dead Center in the Middle of TN 25 miles to Jack Daniels,10 miles to Geo Dickle, and .8 mile from the Liquor Store at I-24 Exit 114
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
St. Jude Donor '05

Default Re: Remove Bushings from Upper & Lower Arm Assembly (wartosh)

I do not press mine out. Even a press sometimes causes problems.