C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie question ... loss of battery power

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2003, 08:53 PM
79Cruzer
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Newbie question ... loss of battery power

Well. I've been enjoying the new baby for the last 4 months in between replacing the rad, alternator,water pump,etc. Just when I get a 3-4 days of no problem driving in something else crops up. Not really complaining as when it's working the fun sure outweighs these shortterm headaches. In time I'll get the beast realiable. Can someone help with the problem below?

I drove the car 2 days ago with no problems on starting. Tonight it won't turn over, but enough juice to run the radio and barely run the fan which tells me the battery is just about dead. I put an ammeter in line with the battery and notice a draw of .18amps. When I disconnect/reconnect the battery it sounds like a relay? is engaging right under the shifter console. I don't want to yank the console out when this may be normal but I think this might be why the battery is being drained. Is there supposed to be a relay there? Thanks for your help.

Should have mentioned it's a 79 L48 stock engine. ****

[Modified by 79Cruzer, 7:57 PM 8/20/2003]
Old 08-20-2003, 10:27 PM
79corvette
Racer

Default Re: Newbie question ... loss of battery power (79Cruzer)

I believe there is a relay for the alarm under there. I noticed it when I would disconnect and connect the battery. I think it used to drain my cars battery. I changed the lock cylinder(I never recieved a key for it) and disarmed the alarm and it doesn't click on and off any more and there is no drain on the battery.

Oh, and welcome to the forum! :party:

[Modified by 79corvette, 10:51 PM 8/20/2003]
Old 08-20-2003, 10:38 PM
Jack71
Drifting

Default Re: Newbie question ... loss of battery power (79corvette)