C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

rotor/distributer problems...? please help

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2003, 01:02 AM
SicChild
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default rotor/distributer problems...? please help

okay, lately I've been having a few different problems with my car...after playing with a few things and replacing some stuff I think i have it narrowed down. I'm no mechanic though, so let me explain things and see what you all think.

I seem to bad having problems every morning, or rather, the first time I goto start the car each day. Sometimes it won't start at all, or else it'll start but the RPM bounces around and it'll bounce too low and the car will die. The same thing would happen while driving (if it started). I think I've figured out what's causing it, but I don't know how to fix it. There seems to be getting built up mousture on the contact on the top of the rotor. Just the slightest bit of mousture seems to be screwing things up. When the take a distributer cap off, and clean/dry the rotor contact, the car starts/runs pretty much fine until the next time it gets mousture build-up. I've replaced the disitributer cap, but that didn't seem to do anything. What else should I do?
Old 07-29-2003, 01:08 AM
LAvetteman
Safety Car

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
St. Jude Contributor

Default Re: rotor/distributer problems...? please help (SicChild)

Replace the rotor.
Old 07-29-2003, 01:17 AM
Greg
Just another Corvette guy
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 3,835 Likes on 1,782 Posts

Default Re: rotor/distributer problems...? please help (LAvetteman)

Hey Kevin,