C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need ideas...something is draining battery.

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2003, 04:09 AM
joshs78sleeper
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need ideas...something is draining battery.

Whats up guys. Something in my electrical system is draining my battery if I let it sit for too long without starting the car up. I am not good with electrical and do not feel like shelling out a ton of money in order to fix this issue. I dont really care about holding programming in a stereo or anything at this time because I dont have one and I doubt I could hear one anyways with the new engine :eek:

Anyhow, unless someone has a better idea, I was planning on just installing a switch to cut all power when I leave the car. This will also double as kind of a kill switch for someone trying to start the car. So what will it take to do this and where would I tap the switch into? I doubt I should tie into the big old battery cable, lol...so where Do I tie into and where is the best place to put the switch? Any ideas on what kind of switch so that its discreet? I was thinking of just hiding one of those real tiny switches that is basically just a little 1/4" post or whatever.

Any ideas on the switch, or suggestions for other fixes are much appreciated. Thanks guys.
Old 07-27-2003, 04:54 AM
BB wowbagger
Melting Slicks

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Need ideas...something is draining battery. (joshs78sleeper)

Theres a battery kill switch that you put right on the terminal of the battery,but i would hunt down that gremlin that eats your power.Get a Amp meter and install in in series with the + cable and start pulling the fuses,one by one,`till you find the circuit that draws power..Electical gremlins are a bear to hunt down,but its quite fun :cheers: :cheers:
Old 07-27-2003, 11:04 AM
mapman
Melting Slicks