C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How to tell what engine my car came with?

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2003, 06:47 PM
Wicked_SS
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to tell what engine my car came with?

I am pretty new to the Corvette game and looking for a little advice. My console plate says 427/390hp. Is there any way to tell what motor originally came with this rig? There is a 69 396 in it now. What exactly does the trim tag tell you other than body/interior color? This car already has the gas tank replaces so there is no hope in finding the build sheet above it, is there anywhere else you guys have found yours? I've heard of them being stuffed inside the frame also. Thanks
Old 07-09-2003, 08:38 PM
Bearcat
Melting Slicks

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Re: How to tell what engine my car came with? (Wicked_SS)

How do you know you have a 396? GM didn't make 396's in 1969. And you can't tell from examination, short of running the numbers on the block or measuring the bore diameter with a pair of calipers.

Also, in 1969, you couldn't tell from the VIN # what engine you had. They didn't start coding that into the VIN until later years. Best way to go is to get the numbers off the block, located on a flat area on the front of the engine just ahead of the passenger side head. Then ask a good machine shop what that engine's from.
Old 07-09-2003, 09:09 PM
topless68
Melting Slicks

I presume we are talking about a '69? The suffix code on SB and BB is located on the stamp pad directly in front of the passenger side cylinder head. The block number is cast into the block, driver side where tranny meets block. Send me the suffix stamp code and I will look in my Chevy 'green book' and tell you what you have.