C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Weight reduction diet?

Old 03-17-2003, 12:17 PM
4DLuvOfSpeed
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Weight reduction diet?

What can I do to make my '79 lighter? So far I've almost taken out the whole A/C (approx. 60 lb.) and I ordered a VBP composite rear spring (approx. 35 lb. difference in unsprung weight). That's +/- 95 lbs. I want to take off 200-250 lb.. I have a few other ideas in mind and need your comments:

1) Tranny. I'm doing a 4-speed conversion. Going with a T-10, which is 50 lb. lighter than the stock 350 auto, according to corvettefaq.com. Is there a production tranny that also bolts in and is lighter than the T10?

2) Heads. I'm still a newbie so I don't know jack about my stock L-48 heads. Are they aluminum? How much do they weigh? How much weight can I save on average if I go with aftermarket aluminum heads?

3) Flywheel. When I do the conversion I'll probably go with a 15 lb. Hays aluminum flywheel. That's over 15 lb. shaven off of rotational weight.

4) Crate engine (future). IF I end up with a ZZ4 or something similar from AR, approx. how much lighter will my car be?

That's all I can think of for now. Any other suggestions? Other than the A/C (which was a mess anyway), I don't want to strip my car of anything, just replace original parts with lighter ones. I'm fixing up my car as a frequent street driver with autocrossing/road racing in mind.
Old 03-17-2003, 12:47 PM
norvalwilhelm
Race Director

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

Default Re: Weight reduction diet? (4DLuvOfSpeed)

Have you got rid of the spare tire, installed light weight rims, even tires can be liter. I totally removed all metal from the front of my car and drill hundreds of holes in it, acid dipped alot of the parts, left others out then powedercoated. My front vacuum tube lost about 19 or 20 pounds alone.