C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need help... radiator and support

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2003, 09:37 AM
ndirishr1
Burning Brakes

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Default Need help... radiator and support

I am looking at putting a BeKool or similar radiator and electric fan in my 68 and wanted to change the radiator support to a later C3 model to use a larger radiator. Any help on how difficult this is or suggestions would be greatly appreciated before I get in antifreeze over my head. My goal is to provide adequate cooling for the stock 327/350HP engine for hot summer parades and to be set up for a possible high HP crate motor down the road. Thanks! :confused:
Old 03-09-2003, 09:59 AM
R. Bruno
Drifting

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Need help... radiator and support (ndirishr1)

I am not an expert on this subject, but before you change to a different support, why not see if an aluminum radiator with more cooling rows is available. I think that will give you what you need. :cheers:
Old 03-09-2003, 10:08 AM
Taijutsu
Drifting

Received 25 Likes on 19 Posts

Once you start replacing and fabricating, things can get complicated/expensive. On my 74 I had the STOCK radiator rebuilt to a 4 core. I have dual Spals and love it! I believe you have a 2 core radiator and mine started out as a 3 core. I got this idea from the forum. Your rebuilt radiator will fit/look like stk. The rebuild is less than cost of new radiator. Check this out! On the hottest days w/AC on, NO PROBLEMS!
Old 03-09-2003, 11:17 AM
shoptek
Melting Slicks

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

ndirishr1,

The way I understand it, the '68 is another 1 year only support, and due to the way it is designed, you could not use a later support without significant mods.
I just did a support and rad change on my '71 and it was a PAIN---and I was just replacing stock parts to stock parts!!!!!