C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Engine compartment plastic

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2003, 04:22 PM
fishman
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine compartment plastic

I am currently cleaning up the engine compartment and was just wondering what you guys recommend for making all of the plastic looking like new? Armour All (or similar equivalent) is a good temporary fix but I wanted something more permanent. Will black paint work? May sound like a stupid question, but this is my first time detailing an engine compartment without an engine in it.

Tim :)
Old 03-01-2003, 05:46 PM
73 LS-4
Melting Slicks

Default Re: Engine compartment plastic (fishman)

I'd hate to put paint on all that plastic without some serious prep work on the plastic first. Remember that plastic will flex and any paint on it will have to as well or it will flake off and look terrible, somebody did this to the inner fenderwells ont he 86 and it was flaking off and it took me quite few hours to scrub it all out of there. I think your best bet is to simply keep it clean. Once you get it all clean it's simple to keep it clean with a damp towel as long as you keep up with it. Armor all and the like tend to build up on it overtime letting dirt stick to it till it starts to get nasty. I like the clean dry look better myself unless you do a really nice paintjob on it like some have done on here.

:cheers:
Pat Kunz
Old 03-01-2003, 07:12 PM
78Vette-SA
Le Mans Master

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Re: Engine compartment plastic (73 LS-4)

Cleaned all the plastic stuff (schroud, ducts, distrbutor cover, etc.) with prepsol then just sprayed it with Trim & Bumper black (semi glass in my case).

Looked like brand new when done and still does after 3 yrs. :steering:
Old 03-01-2003, 07:29 PM
fishman
Heel & Toe

Thanks,