C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Alarm problems

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2003, 03:44 PM
77Dream
Drifting

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Alarm problems

OK, on my 77 I have the stock alarm. The alarm switch is in the drivers door lock. My problem is every time I try to set the alarm it just goes off. Does anyone know what the problem may be? If I want to lock the door I have to lock it from the inside before I close it.
Old 02-27-2003, 05:12 PM
77Dream
Drifting

Default Re: Alarm problems (77Dream)

Anybody? :confused: I'm not good with electrical stuff and this sounds like it might be a wiring problem.
Old 02-27-2003, 05:17 PM
bence13_33
Safety Car

Received 26 Likes on 26 Posts

The same thing happened to my '76's alarm system. There is a mercury sensor for the car alarm. If anyone ever tries to towe away your car, once it reaches a certain angle the mercury sets off the car alarm. It sounds like this might be bad...it was with mine. I disconnected the mercury sensor and mine works fine. The sensor is located right below the windshield washer fluid reservior. Try this and see what happens.
Old 02-27-2003, 05:39 PM
77Dream
Drifting

Default Re: Alarm problems (bence13_33)

That sounds like it might be the problem, but I looked under my windshield washer fluid reservior and all I seen was my carbon canister (I think). Nothing that looks like it might be the mercury sensor. Would it be in a different place on a 77?

Thanks.
Old 02-27-2003, 05:43 PM
bence13_33
Safety Car

Received 26 Likes on 26 Posts

The sensor should be mounted to a piece of fiberglass and should have two wires going to it.
Old 02-27-2003, 10:14 PM
jetech
Racer

Here are some things to look at