C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Aftermarket starters... CVR protorque

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2003, 06:56 PM
Crash Dummy
Safety Car

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
St. Jude Contributor
Default Aftermarket starters... CVR protorque

Is anyone using one of the CVR protorque starters on their C-3? I was looking at their Pt# 5323. And if so, what problems(if any) did you have with header or oil pan clearance? I'm going back in with Sanderson CC-1 headers(pic below), so I wouldn't think that would be any problem. Or will it? Any help would be appreciated.

Old 01-25-2003, 07:01 PM
Monty
Le Mans Master

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Re: Aftermarket starters... CVR protorque (bgrice)

I've been running that starter for about 4 years, on 3 different engines. Works every time, never had a single problem with it. It's got plenty of adjustability.
Old 01-25-2003, 07:11 PM
Crash Dummy
Safety Car

St. Jude Contributor
Default Re: Aftermarket starters... CVR protorque (Monty)

Monty,

Thanks for the answer. I've been looking at the GM high torque mini starters and the CVR. One other question... I have a new 168 tooth flex plate sitting in the garage. Will that work well with the CVR starter and would it be best to upgrade? I'm only running 9.8:1 compression, so it's not as if I will be attempting to turn over something pretty radical.
Old 01-25-2003, 07:17 PM
Armstrong
Burning Brakes

I've also got that starter on mine and had no problems. I did have to remove the spark plug wire shield on one side but I was gonna remove em both anyway so no big deal. Hella good price
Old 01-25-2003, 07:17 PM
gkull
Team Owner

Received 1,331 Likes on 1,059 Posts

I don't have the Summit cat. in front of me to tell you which protoque I own. It the one for prostock type motors up to 17:1 C/R.