C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Air Tool Questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2003, 08:34 PM
foundvettelifeisgood
Melting Slicks
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 183 Likes on 86 Posts

Default Air Tool Questions

I bought an air tool kit that includes several sockets. They are 3/8", 5/8", 1/2" and 9/16." I'll be using this for my suspension change-out. Do I need additional impact sockets?

The air tool manual recommends an in-line oiler. Is this a simple attachment to the hose, or is this something more serious that would be used in a shop?

I'm totally new to air tools. Any other advise is welcome. :cheers:
Old 01-15-2003, 08:45 PM
vettfixr
Le Mans Master

Received 14 Likes on 9 Posts

Default Re: Air Tool Questions (foundvettelifeisgood)

The set you have will take care of most of your work but a full set of sockets isn't that expensive. You can get sets reasonably priced from Sears or Home Depot (Husky). An in line oiler is recommended because it supplies the tools with a constant supply of oil when they're running. This helps lubricate the tool and prevents the internal motor from rusting in the event that you have water in your air lines. If you're not using the tools in a professional capacity it's OK to just oil the tool before each use. An in line oiler is just what it says...an oiler that fits in line between your air hose and the tool. They look sort of like one of the clear fuel filters that you can buy in the aftermarket for fuel lines. You can get them at most auto parts stores that sell air tools or you can get them from sears, harbor freight, home depot, etc. They're not expensive.
Old 01-15-2003, 08:57 PM
Russ Bellinis
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts