C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Fiberglass repair

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2003, 02:39 PM
rexx78
Burning Brakes

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Fiberglass repair

The previous Bubba cut two 6x9 holes in the rear interior panel, which was really stupid since there is no way 6x9's will fit in there due to the gas tank. Now I am going to repair these holes with a fiberglass repair kit I bought. Any advice on how to repair these holes? I have never done any fiberglass repairs before. My garage is not heated, does fiberglass cure by heat or by a chemical reaction. It is currently -16 C and I only have a bullet heater. Thanks in advance.
Old 01-13-2003, 03:33 PM
NHvette
Le Mans Master

Received 15 Likes on 11 Posts

Default Re: Fiberglass repair (rexx78)

The fiberglass resin (polyester) and hardener goes through an exothermic
chemical reaction to cure - similar to bondo.

I would still be concerned with the temp as low as that. The directions on the
can of resin should give you a workable temp range. I would try to get it
warmed up in there as much as possible.

I hear you, though. I need to run the kerosene heater all day to get the
garage warm enough to work with chemicals and paint. It takes incredible
forethought to be ready to work.

Good Luck.. :seeya

[Modified by NHvette, 3:35 PM 1/13/2003]
Old 01-13-2003, 05:38 PM
rexx78
Burning Brakes

Those tools sure are cold when you first start out aren't they?

I guess I will just get it really toasty in there and bevel the edges of the repair area, cut the mat pieces to fit, wrap a piece of plywood (that originally covered the area) with saran wrap and use that for a backing, then just go at it.

After it is all done, maybe I will come in and roll around the bed before I shower. Maybe I will be able to call in sick tomorrow because of some unknown rash/itch I got while sleeping... :lolg: