C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A-Arm Bushings (HELP)

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2003, 08:48 PM
TJRed76
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A-Arm Bushings (HELP)

I am in need of new A-Arm bushings in the front end of my 76.
I have limited tools and experience with front end work. Is this something that I shoul attack on my own, or job it out to a garage?

It looks like things are pretty straight forward, but I have made that mistake before and had to tow it to the garage to fix my mess.

One more project for the "TINKERTOY".
Old 01-12-2003, 09:02 PM
Smokehouse69
Le Mans Master

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Cruise-In VI Veteran
Cruise-In VII Veteran

Default Re: A-Arm Bushings (TJRed76)

Arms aren't a real easy job, but technically it isn't that tough. The most dangerous part is getting the springs out. The rest of it can be done with common hand tools, if you use polyuerathane bushings you don't need to have them pressed in, and you can remove the old remnants of the old bushings, by drilling around the the inside of them with a hole saw or a quarter inch drill bit (make multiple holes, until you can dig out the old rubber.) Some people burn the old rubber out with a torch, but that is a horribly smelly job, I'd rather drill!
Go to the Corvette Faq at http://www.corvettefaq.com and search for write ups on front suspension repair.
Good Luck!
Old 01-12-2003, 09:02 PM
BB68Vett
Burning Brakes

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts