C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New member with questions

Old 01-01-2003, 02:26 PM
Bosch79
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New member with questions

Hello,
I am new to this forum although I have been reading posts for awhile. I bought my first Corvette (1979 white L-82) about six months ago because I have always wanted one. I have never really worked on cars, so my knowledge base is quite limited, although I have some mechanical experience from my two years of being in charge of auxiliary mechanical systems on a Navy destroyer. My questions are (for now):
1. My t-top roof is leaking on the drivers side where the vertical plastic molding joins with the top horizontial plastic molding. I have checked the weatherstripping on the top and it seems to be holding well (water beads up where the weatherstripping is when I remove the tops after it rains). Please tell me if there are other places that I should be checking.
2. My hood didn't come with the L-82 emblems on it. I know the car is an L-82 from the vin. Did all L-82's have these emblems? If so, where exactly do I put them?

I have already learned a ton about Corvettes from reading previous posts, and I appreciate the helpful nature of everyone on these boards.
Thanks,
Brendan

(Pic to follow when I get done detailing the car)
Old 01-01-2003, 02:45 PM
Crash Dummy
Safety Car

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
St. Jude Contributor
Default Re: New member with questions (Bosch79)

Can't help you with the T-tops as I have a vert. But, my catalogs show that 75-79 L-82's did have the emblem on the hood. In '80 it switched to the side of the car. Here's a link that might help you with the placement.
http://www.l-82.com/79.htm
Old 01-01-2003, 05:11 PM
mapman
Melting Slicks

Received 66 Likes on 52 Posts

Default Re: New member with questions (Bosch79)

Bosch79,