C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My Sad Story Of Woe (long)

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2002, 06:34 PM
Edzred72
Le Mans Master

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default My Sad Story Of Woe (long)

Let me begin by stating that I am not a mechanical moron, and have had previous mech expierence with cars and hot rodding (70's). I am a maintenance mechanic/carpenter by trade (25yrs).
Winter set in up in northern Illinois, and up on stands my new prize (owned for 3 months) went to clean, replace, fix up etc. Poly rear spring bush, poly stablizr bush, new stablizr cam hardware, shocks, clean & paint tire tub. All went well with minor obstacles. Then I moved up front..oh god, what a mistake. New sway bar links and poly bush went well. Clean and paint leaky trans pan..fine. Clean & paint air cleaner and valve covers..fine. Then, the simple task of pulling the oil pan has created a mess that has turned me into a screaming, swearing, wrench throwing wildman. To pull the pan, I Had to drop the exhaust..rusted solid studs broke..cut em. Crossover would not budge..cut it out. Exhaust manifolds have to come out to remove old studs..rusted bolt broke inside the head. (still there) Gently drill and tap manifolds for new stainless studs..broke the flange on both!! 1 piece Felpro pan gasket took me 2 hrs to install. Didn't get the "clips" everyone talks about to hold it up in place..not a fun job at all. Rear main seal went quick..whew. Tell me guys..when does it get better? When is it gonna be fun? When is all my time and money going to make me smile again? This car will probably not be on the road till fall of 02. Please..you military guys, ship me 1lb of C4 so I can put myself out of my misery... :mad :mad :mad :mad :mad :mad :mad
Thanks for listening to me vent...Anyone wanna tow a car away?? "CHEAP"!
Old 02-25-2002, 06:46 PM
KENTUCKY81
Advanced