C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Quick track tips??????

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2002, 06:55 PM
Warp70
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Quick track tips??????

I am heading over to the quarter mile track in Orlando tonight, and I am nervous to say the least. Does anyone have any quick tips to get the best time.........and don't say don't wreck, because I know that one already. Is race gas going to increase my performance at all, or is it a waste of money??? Do you guys hold down the accelerator and brake at the same time before take off ....or do you just hold the brake and punch it before you see the green light????? If you couldn't tell, I've never done this before so all advice is welcome :seeya
Old 02-08-2002, 07:10 PM
CDaniel525
Melting Slicks

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Re: Quick track tips?????? (Warp70)

First off, just take it easy and dont get to nervous...no matter what, you most likely will but try not to...

Take it easy on the first run, and launch at a low RPM and work your way up.

After a few runs you might want to try to shift your transmission manually each gear up, but dont overrev.

Thats all i can reall think of when it comes to an automatic....anyone else??

oh yeah....and have fun! :smash:

[Modified by 74VETTE, 6:11 PM 2/8/2002]
Old 02-08-2002, 07:19 PM
Rockn-Roll
Melting Slicks

I'm a stick shift man myself, so there's no way I can help you with getting a good launch with the automatic tranny. But, here's a few tips from my single excursion: