C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help me set my timing

Old 02-04-2002, 12:27 PM
de_cat55
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Help me set my timing

I have taken my car to the shop two times to set the timing and it moves again and again. Also both times the car handled diferent. I would like to set it myself. Can anyone help me from what timing gun to buy to the process of setting it corectly? I am not a mechanic so every detail counts.

Thanks in advance.

:confused:
Old 02-04-2002, 01:07 PM
thejaf
Melting Slicks

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Help me set my timing (de_cat55)

Go to Sears and buy the adjustable timing light. It's about $60 or so.

To set your timing:

1. Find the vacuum advance hose from carb to your distributor, and disconnect it. Use a golf tee to plug the hose if you disconnect it from the vacuum canister on the dist.

2. Locate plug wire #1, and put the inductive part (non-technical term :D) on that wire

3. Hook up positive and negative leads (I stole positive from the tach lead by using a small alligator clip wire at the dist) Negative can be hooked up anywhere that's metal, easiest place it one of the brake lines coming out of the master cylinder.

4. Bump the engine over in small increments without actually starting, you will eventually see a groove on the harmonic balancer (large round thing that your fan is attached to) Mark this groove with something white. Some people say use a wax pencil, I have found that white-out (liquid paper) works best. Also make a note of the timing tab, usually has up to 12 degrees before and after top dead center (TDC)