C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Whoo hoo! Got my Trick Flow 23s :)

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2002, 04:57 PM
terryrudy
Drifting

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Whoo hoo! Got my Trick Flow 23s :)

I'm a happy camper. Wow, they recommend a lot of stuff to go along with the heads. I plan on following instructions but would like to minimize the amount of extra stuff I gotta get. I would like to get some roller rockers. I figure those at about $160. Then some nice felpro gaskets. Do I REALLY need any of the other items on a 65k mile motor? ie: head bolts, head studs, rocker stud girdles, pipe plugs & adapters, pushrods? Sorry I am completely new at head replacement, so I don't know squat.

BTW, these heads are about 30 pounds a piece. I shutter to think how heavy those stock heads are.
thanks
-terry

Old 01-30-2002, 05:01 PM
Stingy74
Safety Car

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Re: Whoo hoo! Got my Trick Flow 23s :) (terryrudy)

I would atleast get ARP head bolts with the built in washer. When I had my Brodix DragonSlayers the helper guy at the machine shop used the stock bolts without washers and they made a nice grove where the head of the bolts meets it's mating surface on the cylinder head. It actually dug in a bit! I now use ARP bolts for my specific application, and they should make they for your app. too.
Old 01-30-2002, 05:38 PM
Matt Gruber
Race Director

Received 75 Likes on 51 Posts

Default Re: Whoo hoo! Got my Trick Flow 23s :) (Stingy74)

i use stock bolts & Mr Gasket washers-$6.95
Old 01-30-2002, 06:46 PM
mountainmotor
Drifting

Can you post some pics for those who have not seen them other than magazines?
Old 01-30-2002, 07:12 PM
terryrudy
Drifting

Default Re: Whoo hoo! Got my Trick Flow 23s :) (mountainmotor)

thanks for advice guys. I'll take pics when I get home tonight and post them and letcha know.
-terry