C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I have a few questions about headers

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2002, 02:23 AM
Phoenix79
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I have a few questions about headers

I've been looking through the summit magazine catalog and came across many headers and many questions. I'm new to the vette and over the months learned alot, but my knowledge in the exhaust area is pretty shady and with headers in the equation my knowledge is close to none so please bear with me and answer my questions and add your experiences on the subject as well. I have a stock SB 1979 Corvette with A/C. I've been told Vettes are alittle out there in the exhaust area due to the manifold or headers exiting down towards the road for clearance issues. My budget is pretty tight so I don't want to spend over $400. I've been eyeing these Hooker Street Rod Headers from the Summit catalog. The straight black price is 139.95 with the Ceramic Coating being 265.95. I know the Ceramic Coating greatly lowers the heat issue but if I wanted to save even more money would the straight black do alright in the car as well? My other big concern is can I keep the regular stock piping and cat. Do the Hooker Street Rod Headers bolt onto the existing exhaust setup like the Manifolds did?