C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rear Suspension Rebuild. While I'm at its?

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2002, 12:06 AM
Juliet
Le Mans Master

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

Default Rear Suspension Rebuild. While I'm at its?

I'm just getting started on my rear suspension rebuild. I'm going to pull the T-arms and bring them to Tony's for rebuild. What else should I do while I'm at it? I've got a list of ideas, but I'd like to see what you guys think. Thanks, ~Juliet
Old 01-27-2002, 12:34 AM
jbs75
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Re: Rear Suspension Rebuild. While I'm at its? (Juliet)

having just rebuilt my trailing arms; do the strut rod bushings also, check emerg. brake cables and lube, maybe since your partway there already, pull the cover off of the differential and check your yokes. i'm assuming your going for stainless emergency brake hardware inthe drums. replace shocks. new t-arm bumpers. stainless shim kit for adjusting, and of course, fresh paint on everything.

Jim
Old 01-27-2002, 10:27 AM
flynhi
Le Mans Master

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

There is a rubber bushing at the front of the differential that is often mised. Recommend using VB's poly.

On a different topic, a friend is looking at a 75 and I seem to recall that some time ago you offered a list of items to check when evaluating a potential purchase. Is that list archived somewhere? If so, please email me at will_shepherd@hotmail.com

Thanks for sending the cowl induction article a few days back - very interesting.....
W.
Old 01-27-2002, 10:28 AM
78Vette-SA
Le Mans Master

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Not to mention calipers, pads, brake lines, rear spring bushing, differential bushing, ujoints, rear wheel bearings.... :D :yesnod: :D