C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Time for new fuel system. Ideas?

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2002, 06:00 PM
The Dude
Race Director

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Time for new fuel system. Ideas?

The old system is poop. Not enough flow. Want to upgrade to something that will be more suitable for this engine. I'm very new to the AN thing, though, but what I'd like to do is something along these lines (pardon the pun):

3/8" AN bulkhead fitting at the bottom rear of the tank. 3/8" stainless hose to a 130-150 gph electric pump mounted "somewhere" in the right rear wheel well area.

About 1 foot of 3/8" stainless hose going to a 3/8" aluminum hard line that runs along the inside of the frame rail and up to a 3-port regulator "somewhere" on the right side of engine compartment.

3/8" stainless with an in-line filter into a nice AN style fuel log for the Holley 4150. Pressure gauge mounted there.

From the other (return) port on the regulator I'd like to run about a foot of 3/8" stainless hose into a 3/8" aluminum hard line that runs along the inside of the frame rail and into a 3/8" bulkhead fitting somewhere in the top of the tank.

All this AN-to-flare-to-pipe-to-whatever adapter stuff makes my head hurt. First of all, is this a plausible sounding system? Second, can somebody point me to a URL that has a good rudimentary walk-through of all this stuff? Any general guidance and/or suggestions would be appreciated greatly also.

Thanks.

[Modified by The Dude, 9:00 PM 1/21/2002]
Old 01-22-2002, 01:00 AM
The Dude
Race Director

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Time for new fuel system. Ideas? (The Dude)

ttt

Anybody?
Old 01-22-2002, 05:30 AM
1979toy
Melting Slicks

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Re: Time for new fuel system. Ideas? (The Dude)