C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

HEI tuning ???

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2002, 01:37 PM
ykp53
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HEI tuning ???

okay guys, i went to the track last year and ran a 1/4 mile at 14.6. my wife was telling one of the guys she works with that about it. he said my 454 should do better than that, and that i should start by trying to adjust the timming, and see if i cant do any better. well i came home from work and she had bought me a adj. timming light, and had a schedule of when the track was open. she told me if i have a vette it should run like one and not be beat by a z28. ( i think she was racing people but i know not to ask questions). so this leads to the questions. how do i set/check the timing? can i do this if i have never done it before? i looked at lars paper in the corvettefaq but i didnt know if it is the same between traditional point systems and hei systems. i have a 454 crate motor with a edelbrock #1910 carb. headers duel exhaust, no cats, and a great wife. so guys help me. tell me what to do.

thanks
Old 01-20-2002, 03:15 PM
ykp53
Racer

Default Re: HEI tuning ??? (ykp53)

okay guys someone has had to have tuned their car before.....
Old 01-20-2002, 04:03 PM
1979toy
Melting Slicks

I wasn't clear on weather you have points or HEI.
In any case, if you have points set them to the factory specs and follow the Lars timing methoad.
You will want to get a set of lightweight mechanical advance springs and install them at the start. The factory springs will not reach full advance soon enough for performance use.
Be sure that your vacuum advance hose is disconnected and pluged before setting the timing.
Connect your timing light to the left front plug wire (#1 cylinder) and the positive stud at the back of the alternator and a ground.