C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cam kit prices?

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2002, 05:39 PM
Marks69BB
Melting Slicks

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Default Cam kit prices?

I'm thinking about changing out my hyd flat tappet for a new hyd or solid roller. My info is in my sig. Since my 454 peaked at 303 RWHP at ~3500 RPM, I want to sacrifice some low end torque for high end (~6000RPM) HP and my heads will come alive with a new cam. What would I need to change out (rods, rockers, pistons, valve springs, etc.) and what would you estimate would be the total cost? If I sound like I'm a rookie when it comes to this stuff, I'm still trying to understand how much needs to be changed when going to a new cam. Thanks in advance for the replies! :cheers:

[Modified by Marks69BB, 3:47 PM 1/9/2002]
Old 01-09-2002, 09:49 PM
Vetterodder
Safety Car

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

Default Re: Cam kit prices? (Marks69BB)

I'm kinda curious about why your hp peaked at only 3500 rpm? If that wasn't a typo, I'd suspect that you'll find a LOT more power at higher rpms. Did you get readings above 3500?
Old 01-09-2002, 10:23 PM
79er
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Cam kit prices? (Vetterodder)

Here is the Comp Cams extreme energy K-kit cam that would give you the power range you want. The kit comes with Camshaft, Lifters, Timing Chain/Gears, Valve Springs, Spring Retainers and Locks, and Valve Springs. It comes with all the stuff you should change out when putting in a new cam. One other thing I would also change out the rockers and pushrods but you don't have to.

Parts# from Jeg's Summit will have it to.
249-K11-246-3 Extreme Energy K-Kit, XE274H $ 396.99
Grind: 274
Lift: .552''/.555''
RPM Range: 1800-6000

[Modified by 79er, 8:24 PM 1/9/2002]

[Modified by 79er, 8:25 PM 1/9/2002]
Old 01-09-2002, 10:29 PM
Don Schuette
Instructor