C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Should I Go For A Total Rebuild?

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2001, 07:13 PM
Pat 69BigBlock
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Should I Go For A Total Rebuild?

118,000 miles on my matching numbers engine and valves are shot.
Compression is between 120-130 on all cylinders. I'm thinking that I'll probably regret it later if I just address the heads. The engine shows no
signs of ever having been machined. I'm not a mechanic.
What should I do? :confused:
Old 12-28-2001, 07:39 PM
Pat 69BigBlock
Racer

Default Re: Should I Go For A Total Rebuild? (Pat 69BigBlock)

P.S. What are my options as far as crate engines if I want to go that route?
Old 12-28-2001, 07:47 PM
69er
Team Owner

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

I'm no motorhead either but my opinion would be to save your BB engine on a stand in your garage.
With a total rebuild you may lose your numbers on the block although they can be restamped.
However the restamped numbers usually are known to be just that because of background decking marks.
A rebuild is cheaper but I'd pick up a 502 crate motor.

[Modified by 69er, 5:55 PM 12/28/2001]
Old 12-28-2001, 07:49 PM
bence13_33
Safety Car

Received 26 Likes on 26 Posts

Personally I think that I would rebuild the entire engine all at once. After 118,000 miles your engine is due for clean-up and rebuild.

As far as crate engines go, what are you looking at (small block or big block). I'm guessing since your car is already a big block that you will want another big block :yesnod:. A ZZ502 is a pretty nice crate engine (but kinda pricey at $6,500). I know if I had the money to buy a crate engine, I would spare no expense by going with a 540 big block...but most people aren't like me. GM HO 454s are nice running engine too.
Old 12-28-2001, 08:38 PM
Pat 69BigBlock
Racer