C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

HyperTech Power Chip

Old 12-25-2001, 09:22 PM
thamzid
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HyperTech Power Chip

HyperTech Power Chip
Anyone have any experience with this Chip and does it do as claimed.
Understand you have to run 93 octane Fuel using this chip.
Plan on installing it on a stock 1981
Ken :chevy
Old 12-26-2001, 11:43 AM
Gator81
Melting Slicks

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: HyperTech Power Chip (thamzid)

Hello, Ken,
It looks like you have the twin to my car. Yours looks great.

Here's a link to my car page:
http://www.rogerscorvette.com/free/morris.htm

About the chip: I'm no expert, but here's what I think I know about it.

I put the Hypertech Thermomaster in mine. Although I think it's somewhat over-rated, I'm still glad I have it. The primary function it serves is to provide more total spark advance and bring it in earlier.

The "Thermomaster" version is supposed to have a more aggressive spark curve than the regular Hypertech chip; that regular chip is still somewhat more aggressive than the stock chip (as I understand it).