C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I think I bit off more than I can chew!!!! Header Install Part 2

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2001, 05:37 PM
Warp70
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I think I bit off more than I can chew!!!! Header Install Part 2

Well as some of you know I purchased some Hooker Headers and had them Ceramic coated for the old Vette. I am in the process of removing my old exhaust manifolds and I started looking out my existing exhaust Vs. The headers. I guess as a novice Mechanic I just figured that I could take off the old and put on the new, but as some of you know it's not that easy. Bolting the headers to the block seems easy enough, but what am I missing to attach the collector side of the header onto my existing exhaust pipes. I have a brand new Stainless Steel exhaust that I thought would just hook up :rolleyes: What am I going to need to do A) have a piece fabricated to connect the two B)Bend the existing exhaust pipe in some way C)Buy an existing part from the local discount auto parts store. I am really clueless, but I can't wait another month to install the headers, so since I've already started the job I would really like to finish. Oh, by the way this is my daily driver so the solution needs to be something I can do by maybe Wednesday at the latest. Thanks in advance for any help available :)
Old 12-24-2001, 05:46 PM
PatsLs1vette
Le Mans Master

Received 15 Likes on 12 Posts

Default Re: I think I bit off more than I can chew!!!! Header Install Part 2 (Warp70)

youll need to cut your existing pipe to attach to the header ..cut it at the header and attach a collector to it..either weld it on or clamp it on...then you can install a gaskey=t between them to seal it up..
Old 12-24-2001, 05:48 PM
Gordonm
Race Director

Received 754 Likes on 464 Posts