C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Under Carpet Heat Barrier

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2001, 10:39 PM
Vettesic
Drifting

Received 36 Likes on 24 Posts

Default Under Carpet Heat Barrier

Before installing new carpet I was thinking about a heat shield. Is there a makeshift alternative or should I just go with the Eckler's ect. version. Thanks in advance.
L8TER, Paul.
Old 12-16-2001, 10:47 PM
ksbunting
Melting Slicks
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts

Default Re: Under Carpet Heat Barrier (Vettesic)

This question has come up a few times in the past and many have said the stuff you buy at Home Depot worked well as an alternative to the expensive stuff the Corvette catalogs sell and is much cheaper.
I have no personal experience yet as my interior is completely gutted.
I'm sure you will receive several more responses,
Good luck with the project and let us know how you make out.
Old 12-16-2001, 10:52 PM
71roadster
Burning Brakes

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I went with a foil backed insulation I bought at a local goodguys show. It was easy to cut with kitchen type shears and since I bought two rolls there was more than enough to cover EVERYTHING. I think the pre-cut ecklers deal leaves quite a bit of area uncovered, and costs more. The two rolls cost $20 each if I recall. Covering everything made a big difference. I usd 3M spray adhesive. Piece of cake...
Old 12-16-2001, 11:14 PM
Chris@VetteFinders
Platinum Supporting Dealership

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Re: Under Carpet Heat Barrier (71roadster)

Absolutely, DO NOT buy the kits from corvette supply companies! They give totally inadequate coverage. Buy a roll and cut it yourself.