C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need your C3 expertise!

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2001, 09:07 AM
'73L-82
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need your C3 expertise!

Hi,
I recently purchased a 1973 Stingray L-82. The rear tail pipes do not extend through the fiberglass at the rear of the car. They curve down at the glass, similar to most any American sedan. I believe the tail pipes have been altered. Should they not extend through the glass, using a bezel to trim out the fiberglass? Please advise! In addition, I'm go to rebuild the engine in this car. I plan on doing the rebuild. I would like to increase the HP from the stock 250 HP to the 300 - 400 HP range. What is the one thing (or things) I can do to the engine during the rebuild to get into this HP range? As you can tell, I'm new to Corvettes and this forum. I appericate any advice this forum can give on the above questions. Thanks now for your reply. '73L-82
Old 12-05-2001, 09:32 AM
Tom73
Race Director

Received 470 Likes on 279 Posts

Default Re: Need your C3 expertise! ('73L-82)

Here is a couple of shots that should help you:

As you can see, they have a rectangular exhaust tip that extends beyond the body. The outlets from the mufflers comes straight back. One note, the 70-72 exhaust tips have the outlet on the outside edge of the tip while the 73 has it in the center of the exhaust tip.
tom...

[Modified by Tom73, 7:38 AM 12/5/2001]
Old 12-05-2001, 09:33 AM
Paul 75 L82
Le Mans Master

Received 24 Likes on 22 Posts

If your looking for horsepower start off buying Chevy High Performance magazine. They have tons of info in every issue. Of couse cam, headers, intake and carb will be your first choices.
Old 12-05-2001, 09:35 AM
Marks69BB
Melting Slicks

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts