C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

4 Post lift by Superlift

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2008, 08:51 PM
Bluestripe67
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 2,127 Likes on 1,466 Posts
C2 of the Year Finalist - Modified 2020

Default 4 Post lift by Superlift

Anyone getting ready to purchase a 4 post lift might want to read this tail of wow. Go to InstallUniversity.com, click of the Burgandy Mercedes Benz then read the story below on Superlift problems. Dennis
Old 02-18-2008, 11:36 PM
Plasticman
Race Director

Received 525 Likes on 374 Posts

Here is the text:

SuperLifts.com Bad Purchase and User Experience
Buyer Beware

The Dream
I have been working on my 1999 Z28 Camaro since 1999. I have laid on my back, rolled around in motor oil, and washed my hair many times with gear oil all in it. The dream to have a lift was one that I thought would never happen. I took my time and talked to friends who had lifts in their homes and decided to go with SuperLifts.com.

Grabbing the Dream
In late September I placed an order for a 9,000 lb. four post lift from SuperLifts.com. On November 29, 2006 I received my lift. The installation was relatively painless minus a few missing parts, incomplete instructions on how to properly assemble the lift, and one phone call to Super Lifts asking a small technical question going unreturned.

Initial Frustration and Safety Concerns
I notice after a few test runs that the pulleys on the lift for the cables that lift and lower the car are rubbing on the nuts and bolts that were sent with the lift that hold the ramps. This led me to notice that they had not sent grade 8 bolts to hold the ramps. Grade 8 bolts are not needed for the shear strength, but we are talking about life and death and $2 extra dollars. I decided to pick up Grade 8 bolts that matched the ones sent with the kit.