C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Spal Fan Questions AGAIN

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2001, 09:13 PM
Roy M
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Spal Fan Questions AGAIN

Recently I asked several questions about the dual Spal fan set up and received good information. I am now back to ask more quetions.
My water temperature gage is mounted in the head between Nos. 1 & 3 cylinders. When I got the fans, I told them that the only place I could mount the temperature sensor was in the thermostat housing so I was sent a 1/2" pipe threaded sensor.
No problem getting everything hooked up after asking a few questions.
My problem now is that I have a 180 degree thermostat [modified to let coolant flow through 3 small holes constantly]. The sensor that I have for the fans is suppose to energise the fans on at 185 degrees and shut them down at 165 degrees.
I can start the car and the temperature will get to 200 degrees [ this reading is through digital gage and has been checked with thermal gun to be accurate] before the fans will kick on and they will kick off when the temperature gage is somewhere around 195 degrees.
I called the company I purchased the fans from and they thought that I might have a defective sensor so they sent a new one and the problem is still there.
It would be my thoughts that the temperature of the water at the termostat housing would be as hot or hotter than in the head where the temperature gage is located.
Has anyone experienced such a problem or do you have any ideas as what might be wrong or what I might do to correct this problem.

Thanks
Old 12-02-2001, 09:41 PM
0Mike69@ECS
Former Vendor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Cruise-In III Veteran
Cruise-In V Veteran

Default Re: Spal Fan Questions AGAIN (Roy M)