C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Disappearing OIL

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2001, 10:14 AM
TTop Tony
Drifting

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Disappearing OIL

My car seems to eat oil at somewhere around 1/2 a quart per 200 to 300 miles. My odometer doesn't work so I'm just guestimating the mileage. I only see a few drops of oil on the garage floor so I can't figure out where the oil is going. Any hints on where to start looking? There's sometimes a blue puff of smoke when I start the car but after that the exhaust is clean. I'm a newbie with engines so I'm not quite sure where to start. Any advice is appreciated.
Old 11-26-2001, 10:19 AM
Monkeywrench
Melting Slicks

Default Re: Disappearing OIL (TTop Tony)

I had an older V6 chevy that had leaky valve cover gaskets. The oil would leak fom here but would burn off slowly as it dripped onto the exhaust manifold so I never saw the leak on the floor. Just a hunch. Check those gaskets...

Sean
Old 11-26-2001, 10:22 AM
79MakoL82
Melting Slicks

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Blue puff indicates valve stem seals. This can be a source of oil loss, but usually not the kind you are speaking of. In terms of the oil on the floor, try to locate where the oil is coming from. Is it the oil pan or might it be coming from the valve covers. Whichever one, replace the gasket.

[Modified by 79MakoL82, 8:22 AM 11/26/2001]
Old 11-26-2001, 10:36 AM
TTop Tony
Drifting

Default Re: Disappearing OIL (79MakoL82)

Am I supposed to put gasket sealer on these? I didn't when I swapped out my intake. Definitly some things to look at. I would have thought I'd see more dripping on the floor. Its my first sports car so I'm still learning
Old 11-26-2001, 10:59 AM
MikeC
Melting Slicks