C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Calling body work experts.

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2001, 11:15 AM
ImBatman
Safety Car

Received 161 Likes on 49 Posts

Default Calling body work experts.

I have started the body prep for my '71 and have read and purchased lots of material on how to sand and fix various problems with fiberglass. Here is my issue and most books don't seem to cover repairs this small. I have a hole about twice the size of a BB on the rear quarter panel upper part. How do I fix this? Is it neccessary to use fiberglass mat here or just resin or some other type of filler?
Old 11-21-2001, 11:54 AM
Rolling Thunder
Safety Car
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cruise-In I Veteran
Cruise-In II Veteran
Cruise-In III Veteran
Cruise-In IV Veteran
St. Jude Donor '03

Default Re: Calling body work experts. (wadew10)

I'm by no means an expert but here's my method: Filling holes such as trim bolt holes could be done with filler, but stand the chance of showing up later when the filler shrinks. If it is a clean round hole, I use a countersink to give it a taper, then tightly role a strip of fg mat, saturate it with resin and stick it through the hole. The back side will swell out to lock it from coming out, and the outside will conform to the taper. When it dries, just sand off the part that sticks out.

Good luck,
Dave
Old 11-21-2001, 12:44 PM
LemansBlue68
Melting Slicks

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts