C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

buying a vette

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2001, 09:01 PM
84fieroburton
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default buying a vette

im buying a vette (c3 :cheers: ) soon .
i don't realy know what year yet but it will probley be a 1974-82 c3.
im not a very good machanic but i was wondering if i could get some info about what to look for when buying a c3 corvette ?
also, what is probley the fastest most reliable c3 in the 1974-82 years?
and what king of c3 problems should i exspect to get with $10,000 budget ?
thanx alot
Burton
Old 11-18-2001, 10:22 PM
Shutdown1
Instructor

Default Re: buying a vette (84fieroburton)

Hi Burton,

I'm no expert on anything, but when I buy a used car I always take it for a test drive with somebody that is knowlegable about the model. And then I take it to a good mechanic and have him go over the car completely and give me his opinion. Remember, that even though it may be a beautiful, immaculate C-3 Corvette sitting there, - it is still an OLD CAR! You say you are "not a very good mechanic," but you probably will be after you've owned any old hotrod a few years. $10,000 should buy you a decent ride. Regards and good luck...... '74 Turbocharged 350, "Molested to Perfection" , class of '71
Old 11-18-2001, 10:38 PM
joshc
Instructor

Burton,