C5 Forced Induction/Nitrous C5 Corvette Turbochargers, Superchargers, Centrifugal, Twin Screw & Roots Blowers, Twin Turbo Kits, Intercoolers, Wet & Dry Nitrous Injection, Meth
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Road race heat monster(F1 vs. D1)

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2007, 05:59 PM
snitz
Burning Brakes
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Road race heat monster(F1 vs. D1)

I've been battling the heat monster all year long. I am a newbie to road racing and have been tracking my car weekly. As I get faster and drive harder, my heat issues get tougher to solve.

After 8-10 laps my coolant temps are 253 degrees and I need to pull over to cool down.

My set up: D1SC, forged bottom, meth inj, Dewitts radiator w built in oil cooler, tiger shark front. I have been running 16 lbs of boost and recently lower that to 13 lbs. That didn't impact the temps, but slowed my laps times 1.5 sec/lap(not good). Less low end pull.

Coolant temps on normal highway driving running around 205 degrees.

My tuner and I are reviewing options to get the temps down.

I'm planning to seal up the radiator shroud better with some foil tape to get more air injected into radiator.

We are considering changing out the head unit to a F1 vs. an D1? The idea being that the F1 won't generate as much heat and help the car run cooler. Agree? Any thoughts(pro/con).
Old 08-18-2007, 06:57 PM
R6_C5_CLS55
Burning Brakes

What water pump are you running (stock, Meziere electric or Evans mechanical)?

* For the track I think the stock mechanical or the Evans will move the most water. The electric will move the same amount all the time as long as the voltage tot the pump is constant (but less than the mechanical units once the engine speed is above 2,000 RPM). Use a 160 degree thremostat.

Since you are supercharged, are you running an overdrive crank balancer (larger than 7.25 inches, like the 8 inch ECS unit made by Innovative West)?