C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Converting a 76 frame for my 63 vert

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2007, 11:29 AM
silverslashstreak
Drifting

Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts

Default Converting a 76 frame for my 63 vert

I thought I would share this process with who ever is interested that might be looking for a alternative to buying a new 5000.00 replacement frame. This is my first time to do this, so feel free to chime in with info.

1. Step one I purchased a good roller for 1200.00, complete with suspension, brakes and rear end, straight and rust free. I could part out the components for about 500 or 600 bucks getting the base cost down around 700.00.

2. I built a jig out of angle iron for the body mounts on the 63 frame so when it came time to weld them on the 76 frame they would be in the correct place and height.

[IMG]http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f282/sliverslashstreak/2007Easterandframeconversion043.jpg[

3.I then cut the main body mounts off the 63 and cleaned and prepared them. I then located the rear mount, and welded it and attached the jig and bolted the front 2 mounts to the jig and welded them into place.

The mounts welded into place (I tacked them and trial fit the body before welding them solid) and they fit very well.

The next steps will be to add the rear section from the 63 frame to the 76 frame. I will try to post it tonight.

Hope this is of interest Jeff
Old 06-22-2007, 11:49 AM
achapman
Melting Slicks

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Looks like you plan is coming together....

I'll stay tuned....
Old 06-22-2007, 11:56 AM
Ron Miller
Le Mans Master

Received 315 Likes on 179 Posts

Great service you're doing for the guys on the forum. I don't think I'll ever need a frame for mine during my lifetime, but I know they're folks out there who need a cheaper alternative than a new frame. This'll be a big help to them, I'm sure!!