C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Phoenix Auctions 2007 Engine Pad Quiz #3

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2007, 11:54 PM
philip964
Burning Brakes

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Phoenix Auctions 2007 Engine Pad Quiz #3

Ok here is number three. Lots of '67s at the auction this year. All 427/435.

Real or Restamp ? You guys are the experts, I'm just here to learn.
Old 02-05-2007, 12:08 AM
MosportGreen66
Melting Slicks

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts

I like the broach marks. But don't know enough about engine pads to say further.
Old 02-05-2007, 02:18 PM
Kensmith
Le Mans Master
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

If it isn't real, sure did a nice job!
Old 02-05-2007, 02:21 PM
Tintin
Cartoon Character
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am no expert by any means , but that 5 looks crooked and odd. Maybe that is normal like my ripply bumpers, but most striking tools line up. I say it is fake - but I would take a real expert with me if I were going to be a buyer.
Old 02-05-2007, 02:52 PM
knight37128
Le Mans Master

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Fake

Bubba with a belt sander, file, or what ever.

This is just my opinion. The depth of the "broach" marks should vary. As the cutting plate wears, deep gouges should appear. It just makes sense (to me). It is cutting metal to metal.

just my .02
Old 02-05-2007, 02:57 PM
vetarun
Racer

I will agree with Ken. If it is fake, they sure did a good job. I vote real. Just my guess though.
Old 02-05-2007, 03:05 PM
Harps
Le Mans Master

Received 137 Likes on 51 Posts

No expert here either, but I think the broach marks look good, as well as the overall positioning of the numbers. The "5" is a little off, but didn't those "gang" stamps have a little play in them?

My vote is for real.
Old 02-05-2007, 05:16 PM
philip964
Burning Brakes